Emery High School Takes Third in Automotive Competition


Press Release

Over 60 students from 11 high schools in three states competed in the 2019 New Mexico Junior College Automotive Invitational Competition hosted on Thursday by NMJC’s Automotive Technology program.

Lubbock High Schools, representing Coronado High, Lubbock High and Monterey High, won first place for the top automotive team, collecting the most points as a team. The second place team was NMJC‘s ACTA (Advanced Career Tech Academy) program. The third place team was Emery High School from Castle Dale.

Six students from Emery High competed at the event, including Klint Allred, Daxton Miller, Brytan Hansen, Jerrin Huntington, Kelton Gordon and Logan Garrett.

The top three individuals each received a $500 scholarship from New Mexico Junior College Foundation, along with several prizes including tools, tool chests, work carts and more:

  • First place – Brandon Allen from Coronado High School, Lubbock, TX
  • Second place – James Akin from NMJC’s ACTA Academy, Hobbs, NM
  • Third place – Daxton Miller from Emery High School, Castle Dale, UT

Miller is a junior at Emery High and plans to compete next year as a senior.

Other prizes of tools and chests were given to the remaining top 10 winners:

  • Fourth place – Gabriel Rasco from Coronado High School, Lubbock, TX
  • Fifth place – Esteban Garza from Monterey High School, Lubbock, TX
  • Sixth place – Hazel Valverde from Denver City High School, Denver City, TX
  • Seventh place – Jaden Gortney from Lubbock High School, Lubbock, TX
  • Eighth place – Joel Marquez from NMJC’s ACTA Academy, Hobbs, NM
  • Ninth place – Donovan North from Lubbock High School, Lubbock, TX
  • Tenth place – Ernesto Lara from Hereford High School, Hereford, TX

Competitors attended from Carlsbad, NM; Denver City, NM; Dimmitt, TX; Castle Dale, UT; Hereford, TX; Lubbock, TX; Seminole, TX; Silver City, NM; and Hobbs, NM. Students were tested in their skills with various parts of automobiles, along with written tests. Sponsors include NAPA, Rich Ford, Power Ford, Sewell Ford and Ford Motor Company.

In addition to the competition, the Emery Spartans took some time to explore Carlsbad Caverns National Park.

scroll to top