A Look Back at the History of Coal City

0265.jpg

Approximately nine miles up Consumers Road rests the remnants of Coal City, a small town that was established in 1917 by George A. Storrs.

Storrs had a vision of a booming mining community. This vision fell short, but traces of the small city still exist. The Utah Division of Wildlife Resources has worked to preserve the history of Coal City through research and documentation.

On Tuesday, DWR members, state park representatives and members of the community celebrated the opening of a permanent display marking the history of Coal City.

Nestled in a DWR Wildlife Management Area are deteriorating structures, old water systems and various artifacts left behind by Coal City residents. The public is invited to visit and explore the area. However, officials ask that any artifacts found at the site be left alone for others to enjoy for years to come.

Visitors also have the opportunity to read about Coal City’s history on a permanent display located on site. In addition to enjoying a real life ghost town, visitors hmay see several different wildlife species on the DWR managed site.

The wildlife area is home to over 1,000 elk and 5,000 mule deer during the winter. Approximately 20,000 acres of land is owned by the DWR, offering refuge for these wildlife species. The public is welcome to hunt, hike, horseback ride, harvest Christmas trees (with permit) and travel on designated roads within the wildlife management area.

Coal City is a short distance from most Carbon County towns and DWR officials urge citizens to enjoy its history and the wildlife that surrounds it.

 

Leave a Reply

scroll to top
WordPress Video Lightbox
X
X