Annual CHS ESPY Awards Recognize Excellent Athletes *Photo Gallery*


Carbon High School (CHS) had their annual Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly (ESPY) Awards held in the gymnasium. CHS Athletic Director Ted Bianco and Jordan Buscarini were the masters of ceremony for the evening. Some teams had already had their banquets and handed awards out before the event. The first award presented was for the CJ Smuin Memorial Award, which was presented to Madison Orth. Orth is the first-ever female recipient of the award, which was presented to her from Zac Jones and Cami Carlson.

Phil Howa and Carlson took the stage next, as the both are stepping down as coaches next season.

“I want to spend time with my family, my wife. I love you guys and I’m going to miss you on the field. But I’m going to be here, I’m staying to teach. I’m going to be here a few more years and see what it’s like to teach without the stress and the pressure. I hope I can do that. Again, I wish the best to the football program, all the sporting programs and the athletes that are coming back. Know that I’m retiring from coaching, I’m not retiring from you. Anything you need, anyway I can help, I’d be glad to help,” said Howa.

Carlson then spoke, stating: “I just want to say thank you for allowing me to be a coach at the school, it’s been an honor and a privilege working with your sons and daughters. It’s been amazing and incredible. I’m excited for the new coaching staff to come in and do some amazing things. Thank you very much.”

Cross Country coach Telisse Martak then presented two-time state champion Rozlyn Stowe with an award for her dedication to the team and to constantly improving her times every year. Cynthia Lancaster then presented all-state awards for Amiah Timothy, Emma Bowman and Fortune Ward for their great season in girls’ soccer.

Pete Riggs next presented the most outstanding athlete for girls’ tennis to Ella Anderson for her hard work and great performances during the season. Howa then presented Deegan Richards with the Rich Columbo Award for his resilience and hard work during the football season. Jeremy Smith received his award for his dedication through then years from a heartfelt speech from Coach Howa.

Girls’ Volleyball coach, Teresa Mower, presented the Deseret News All-State awards to Adri Abeyta, Taylor Secor and Madison Orth. Orth would also receive the Career Kill Club Award for reaching 1,234 kills on the season. Drill Coach Taylor Loveland presented the Dancers Choice Award, which was voted by the team a teammate everyone looked up to, to Melody Crippen. Amiah Timothy and Madison Orth were then presented award for girls’ basketball for exceeding 1,000 points in their high school careers. Timothy would also receive the MVP award for the season.

Cameron Jones received the most outstanding athlete award for boy’s tennis for his hard work, resilience and great attitude during the season. Jimmy Jewkes then presented Eliza Haddock, Kelsey Richards and Ella Morley with an award for their accomplishments in winning in their events at the state meet. Jewkes also presented Blythe Bradford with an award for achieving gold at the state.

Ryker Butler and Kylan Sorenson received Most Inspirational Athlete of the Year for their great teamwork and dedication to their respective sports during the season. Easton Humes won Male Athlete of the Year for his excellent achievements in his respective sports. Timothy then received Female Athlete of the Year for her excellent performance in her respective sports.

scroll to top