Area Municipal Elections to be Held Tuesday, November 3


By Julie Johansen

Some communities in Emery County will not hold elections on Tuesday. The cities only had enough candidates file to fill vacant positions.The following municipalities have cancelled their elections:

Emery, Ferron, Clawson, Cleveland and Elmo.

Other communities in Emery County are sporting quite a long list of candidates. Castle Dale City has three openings on its council. Candidates for these four-year terms are Jacob Barnett, Joel Dorsch, Brad Giles and Holly Jorgensen. Castle Dale’s polls will open at 7 a.m. at the Museum of the San Rafael.

Orangeville has only one incumbent running; Carol Stilson. Other candidates are Brandon Hoffman, Kirk McQuivey and Janet Tuttle. Polling will take place in the Orangeville City Hall Council room.

Huntington’s list of candidates include LaMar Guymon, Becky Jorgensen, Chris Justice, Leonard Norton, Clark Ungerman and Joe Ward. Huntington has no incumbents running for office.  Huntington residents will be able to vote at Huntington City Hall.

Six candidates have filed for three four-year term council seats in Green River. They are Travis Bacon, Dan Harrison, Penney Riches, Kathy Ryan, Jayna Salinas and Maria Sykes. Green River residents voted by mail this year, but they may return their ballots to city hall on Tuesday if they have not mailed them.

Carbon County communities are also showing lists of hopeful candidates for city leadership positions.

East Carbon City will hold its election at the senior citizen center. Doug Parsons is running for mayor unopposed. Four-year council member candidates include David Avery, Chuck Aveyta, Vincent Coffin, Barbara Robinett and Karla Young. Candidates for two-year council seats are Ruby Cordova, Philip Holt, John Huitt, and Tony Riffle.

Helper City has three open positions for four-year council seats. Candidates are Dave Dornan, Jason Llewelyn, Kirk Mascaro, Amanda Wheeler, and Tom Williams. Helper’s polling place will be at the LDS Stake Center on Ridgeway.

Paula Noyes, Glenn Wells, Marvin Willson and Pete Yakovich are running for city council seats in Wellington City. Wellington City Hall will be its polling place.

Price City has three candidates for four-year council seats. They are Wayne Clausing, Rick Davis and Layne Miller. Price residents need to vote at the Price City Administration Building.

All polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

scroll to top