Carbon County Chamber holds Installation and Awards Banquet


The who’s who of the community gathered at the Tuscan Restaurant on Thursday night for the annual Carbon County Chamber of Commerce Installation and Awards Banquet.

Members and guests feasted on prime rib and bid on items on the silent auction table with proceeds going to benefit Active Re-Entry’s Perkie Travel Program.

The 2013 incoming Executive Board members are Bobbie Ockey-2013 President, Al Shakespaere-2014 President, Robert Oliver-Secretary, Scott Olsen-Treasurer, and Ethan Migliori -Immediate Past President.

Board members for the 2013 year include: Ann Anderson-Castle Country Radio, Erroll Holt-Zion’s Bank, Kerry Jensen-Service Master, Nicole Steele-Workforce Services, Ben Heaton-Tony Basso Group, Mark Holyoak-Castleview Hospital, Richard Shaw-Sun Advocate and Richard Tatton-Tatton Insurance.

Judge Elaine Storrs was present to swear in the new Chamber board for the upcoming year. Nick Tatton was the emcee of the evening .

Dr. Robert Behunin from Utah State University was the featured speaker. Behunin’s presentation was the Public/Private Partnership to USU’s Economic Development Engine. He talked in depth about the Utah Science Technology and Research initiative (USTAR).

USTAR is designed to increase the flow and commercialization of university discoveries, inventions, and innovations to accelerate the growth of new businesses and industries, thus creating high-paying jobs, and providing additional tax revenues. There are three areas of focus that include BioInnovations, Earth and Space Innovations and Energy Innovations.

It is the Energy Innovations area that will impact Carbon and Emery County soon. Behunin announced a spin out plant called BRAVAD Coking Technology, that is ready to take private investors. It should bring over 100 jobs and and create annual royalties that will stay in the area. The plant will be located in the old WETC facility.

Miglori and Ockey presented plaques to the Sun Advocate, Castle Country Radio and AJB Broadcasting for their service to the community. The 75th anniversary of Carbon College was recognized.

The “Outstanding Chamber member of the Year” was presented to Wayne Clausing of Sutherlands Building Supply. The “Community Service Award” went to United Way of Southeastern Utah. Erin Needles was honored with the “Thank-you for Service” award.

There were two members honored with the “Contributions to Community” award. Mike Milovich, former Carbon County commissioner and Tom Anderson of Castle Country Radio were chosen for all they have done over the years to improve the community. Anderson’s son Paul Anderson accepted the award posthumously for his father.

Kerry Jensen of Service Master was chosen for the “Board Member of the year” for 2012. The presentations wrapped up with the “President’s Choice” award given to outgoing president Ethan Miglori for his tireless involvement in the chamber and other community endeavors. Ann Evans, Chamber Coordinator and Deb Butler, Chamber Secretary were also honored for all they do to keep thing running smoothly.

scroll to top