Carbon County Chamber of Commerce Inducts New Board Members at Annual Banquet


By Kelcy Faimalo

The Carbon County Chamber of Commerce introduced and inducted its newest board members at the Installation and Awards Banquet held Jan. 22. The event took place at the at the Ramada in Price.

The annual banquet allows the chamber an opportunity to present many awards and honor local, hardworking businesses and community members in addition to introducing its newest board members.

The evening began with a special guest speaker, Dr. Laura Nelson, who is the Executive Director of the Governor’s Office of Energy Development. Dr. Nelson spoke of the great need to diversify energy and the importance of implementing comprehensive energy education programs in local schools.

“We have to keep talking about these energy issues. I think it is really critical,” she said. “We’re suffering from about 25 years of our kids not knowing where energy comes from. So, we need to find those opportunities to teach our kids about energy and not only where it comes from, but how we can improve it.”

The chamber awarded the Small Business of the Year award to Hard Hat Furniture & Appliance, who have been in business in Price for over 40 years.

Emery Telcom, who employs over a hundred people in both Carbon and Emery counties, was awarded Big Business of the Year. Emery Telcom continues to maintain the feeling of a small business that cares.

Rick Shaw, who was instrumental in bringing close to 700 tourists to Carbon County, was given the Outstanding Board Member award and Peczuh Printing was presented with the Best Business After Hours award.

The president of the Carbon/Emery Board of Realtors, Karen Martino-Basso, was given the Community Service award for her efforts in securing funding during the flood disaster in Helper this past summer.

After awards were given, the new executive board members were introduced and sworn in. Ann Anderson will serve as the president in 2015 with David Funk as vice president, Robert Oliver as secretary and Colleen Loveless as treasurer.

Anderson, who was raised in Carbon County, said she is excited and honored to serve as the president this year.
“I will strive to get to know the businesses in our community and develop a strong relationship between them and the chamber of commerce,” Anderson said. “By working together, I believe that we can create new opportunities to promote business in Carbon County, which will benefit us all.”

Anderson encourages everyone to get involved in the community and with the Carbon County Chamber of Commerce in some way.

The remaining board members announced at the event are as follows: Janna Hopes from the Carbon Copy Center, Kerrie Barker from the Community Nursing Service, Danny Mower from the Price Auto Group, Kerry Jensen with ServiceMASTER, Ryan Murray from the Small Business Development Center, Jenni Fasselin from the Sun Advocate, Richard Tatton from Tatton Insurance and Bean Heaton from the Tony Basso Group.

All proceeds from a silent auction at the event benefited the Boys and Girls Club of Carbon County.

scroll to top