Carbon County Democrats Prepare for General Election


The pieces are falling in place as local candidates are announced for this November’s upcoming political elections.

On March 18, the Carbon County Democratic Caucus meeting was held, followed by the Democratic Convention on April 3. At the convention, all democratic candidates ran unopposed, yet spoke to those in attendance.

Candidates representing the Carbon County democratic party include:

  • Carbon County Commission / Surveyor: John Jones – Incumbent
  • Carbon County Commissioner: David S. Palacios
  • Carbon County Attorney: Gene Strate – Incumbent
  • Carbon County Clerk/Auditor: Seth Oveson – Incumbent
  • Carbon County Recorder: Vikki Fossat Barnett – Incumbent
  • Carbon County Assessor: Julie Patterson Medley – Incumbent
  • Carbon County Treasurer: Kay Colosimo
  • Carbon County Sheriff: Tom Stefanoff

Brad King will represent the democratic party as he runs for the Utah House of Representatives District 69 seat. King ran unopposed in the democratic primaries and will now face Bill Labrum from Duchesne who will represent the republican party. Both men are running for the seat, which is currently held by Jerry B. Anderson of Price.

During the Utah Republican Convention this past weekend, Anderson faced former District 69 representative Christine Watkins and Labrum for the chance to run in this year’s election. However, delegates nominated Labrum as the republican candidate.

Local democrats hope to boost King into the house seat this November, putting a Carbon County resident into the state legislature.

The District 69 house seat encompasses all of Carbon County and parts of Emery and Grand counties.



scroll to top