EHS Seniors Receive Awards, Scholarships at Awards Night


By Julie Johansen

The Emery High School (EHS) graduating class of 2019 had scholarships worth over $1,203,171 offered.

Per tradition, local scholarship sponsors made presentations at the senior awards night on Monday evening. The Ethan Winter Memorial Scholarships recipients were Sydney Terwilleger and Spencer Hadfield while Reagan Rasmussen received the Darrell Gardner Scholarship.

Singleton/Seely Scholarships were given to Katelyn Christensen and Kamrie Chynoweth. Cambrie Bennett received the Emery Scholarship. The Money Smart Spartan Scholarship was presented to Deegan Minchey.  McKay Meccariello received one of the Johansen & Tuttle cash award and the Intermountain Power Project scholarship. Bailey Huggard was also awarded the Johansen & Tuttle award.

The Utah Elks Lodge winner was Jesse Braun and Price Elks Lodge made their presentation to Huggard and Montana Allred. The NRCS scholarship was given to McKay Meccariello.

Bennett, Rebecca Carroll, Mollie Cooksey, Shaylee Gilbert, Carson Donaldson, Tiana Jensen, Augustus Dalton and Zackary Mecham were all presented with Emery Telcom scholarships for their upcoming college endeavors.

The Emery High 2019 valedictorian was announced as Walker Woolsey while Bailey Huggard and Ethan Anderson will be co-salutatorians. Teachers and department heads then presented certificates and other personal awards to student achievers in each discipline. Emery High Assistant Principal Dean Stilson presented outstanding athletes, which included Huggard and Kyson Stilson.

To conclude, EHS Student Body President Jesse Braun presented a myriad of trophies won by students of Emery High to Principal Steven Gordon to be displayed for all to see.

scroll to top