Emery County Business Chamber Hosts Annual Banquet


On Wednesday evening, the Emery County Business Chamber hosted its annual banquet and fundraiser at Miller’s Landing in Huntington. Funds were raised in the form of a silent auction with a portion of the proceeds going to the Children’s Justice Center.

Shelly Wright, Director of the Children’s Justice Center (CJC) introduced the charity and explained the services they offer to the community. The CJC model was designed to help communities respond more effectively to allegations of child abuse. For more information on the Children’s Justice Center, please call (435) 636-3739 or visit www.cjc.utah.gov.

Guests were pleased to listen to speakers Mike Hansen and Shannon Ellsworth from the Utah Rural Planning Group. Hansen and Ellsworth spoke to the group about a study they are conducting entitled Utah Coal. The study examines Utah’s coal industry using the framework of scenario planning. Additionally, the study offers an assessment of the set of circumstances currently affecting the industry, identifies key uncertainties upon which the future of the industry hinges and presents scenarios that describe how these uncertainties could shape the future of the industry and the communities that depend on it. The duo is partnering with SEUPA and the Rural Planning Group to further the study in the local area area. For more information on the study, please visit www.ruralplanning.org/

Businesses honored at the banquet are as follows:

Big Business of the Year: Wheeler Machinery
Small Business of the Year: Boyd’s Pharmacy
Growth from Within Award: Conductive Composite Company, Genco-David Sebring
Outstanding Customer Service: Stewart’s Market
New Business Owners of the Year: Tamarisk
New Business of the Year: Total Insanity Motorsports and Miller’s Landing
Extra Mile Award: J&D Auto
Contribution to the Community Award: Emery Medical Center

Following the awards, Chamber Board Members were introduced and two new members* were sworn into office by Judge Scott N. Johansen.

President: Jared Anderson
Vice President: Nannette Tanner
Executive Director: Jaime Anderson*
Secretary: Ruth Ann Ekker*
Treasurer: Laurel Magnusen
Board Members: Julie Jones, Patsy Stoddard, Ryan Murray, David Allred, Keith Brady, Ethan Migliori and Diane Behling





scroll to top