Ferron Elementary Named National Title I Distinguished School


Ferron Elementary recently hosted the Emery County School District regular board meeting. Ferron Elementary Principal Brian Dawes reported to the board that the school was named one of the state’s two National Title I Distinguished schools and has been invited to attend the National Title I Conference on Feb. 5 – 8 at the Salt Palace Convention Center in Salt Lake.

An important action of the board at the meeting was the swearing in of reelected board members. Laurel Johansen was reelected board president and Royd Hatt was reelected as vice president. Jared Black was appointed business administrator.

Also in attendance were Craig Smith of Smith Hartvigsen, PLLC from Salt Lake City and mayor of Green River, Pat Brady. Smith gave the board a slide show presentation labeled “Tax Increment Financing.” Dayna Terry gave a “Comprehensive Guidance Program” presentation and Nanette Harrison gave a presentation on the “Upstart Grant.”

scroll to top