Governor’s Office Announces Initial Cabinet Change


SALT LAKE CITY – Today the Office of Governor Gary R. Herbert announced initial changes in state agency leadership. “The Governor and senior staff have reviewed the entire Governor’s Office and Cabinet in an effort to ensure the Governor’s priorities are met over the next four years in a way that serves that best interests of the State,” said Chief of Staff Derek Miller.

“We sincerely thank every one of these accomplished professionals for their dedication and service to the State of Utah,” Miller added.

x Department of Public Safety Commissioner Lance Davenport will retire with nearly 29 years of service when his term ends June 30, 2013.

x Department of Transportation Executive Director John Njord has announced his plans to retire after a national search for his replacement is conducted.

x Insurance Commissioner Neal Gooch also announced his retirement.

x Department of Corrections Executive Director Tom Patterson has announced his resignation, effective January 4, 2013. Corrections Deputy Director Mike Haddon will serve as acting director while a national search is conducted for a new executive director.

x Acting Executive Director at the Dept. of Workforce Services, Jon Pierpont has been named the new agency executive director, replacing Kristen Cox, whom the Governor recently named the new director of the Governor’s Office of Management and Budget.

scroll to top