Many Scholarships Presented to EHS Graduating Class of 2024 *Photo Gallery*


By Julie Johansen

The annual Senior Award Assembly of Emery High School was hosted on Monday, May 20 as soon as school started at 8:15 a.m. The assembly began with the Helping Hands award, presented to two first year teachers, Angela Huntington and Mekette Taney. Following this recognition, Principal Steven Gordon and Vice Principal Dean Stilson recognized the Valedictorian Jorgen Robinson, Salutatorian Tyler Frandsen, and Honor Student Elizabeth Carroll.

Spring Academic All-staters Cheyenne Bingham, Chase Huggard, Madilyn Bunnell, Morgan Luke, Wade Stilson and Audrey Yost were then presented their certificates.

Over $4 million in scholarships was then offered to the graduating Class of 2024. Troy and Cresta Winter presented the Ethan Winter Memorial Scholarships to two soccer seniors Chase Huggard and Purity Mason. Jim Hale from Intermountain Power at Delta presented $2,000 to William Stilson. This was based on activities, academics and citizenship.

Melissa Swenson, representing the Price Kiwanis Club, gave six cash awards to Nikai Cook, Taya Cowley, Easton Hurdsman, Chase Huggard, Emily Richards and Dane Sitterud. United Way of Eastern Utah presented $500 to Dane Sitterud, Kelsey Jorgensen, Kelsey Norton, Chase Huggard and Lillee Tuttle. Jorgen Robinson was the winner of the Jones and DeMille essay scholarship.

Utah Soil Conservation’s $1,000 went to Easton Thornley. The San Rafael Soil Conservation’s $500 went to Hannah Neff and Chase Huggard. Merrill Johansen presented the Johansen and Tuttle scholarships of $2,000 to Hannah Neff and Lillee Tuttle.

Snow College’s 50% tuition scholarships went to Karleigh Stilson, Ansley Staley, Elizabeth Carroll, Cheyenne Bingham, Tyler Frandsen and Carley Young. USU Eastern ambassador awards were given to Chloe Wagner, Derick Jensen, Taya Cowley, Kylee Willis, Breshian Deabenderfer, Jorgen Robinson, Elizabeth Carroll, Zack Tuttle, Graycee Mills, Wade Stilson and Kelsey Jorgensen.

Emery Telcom Scholarships were awarded by Tom Hansen, President of the Board, to Raegan Jackson, Tyler Frandsen, Kelsey Jorgensen, Luke Justice, Ashlyn Tuttle, Monty Christiansen and Tyson Laws. The JR Nelson Memorial scholarships of $1,500 went to Stetson Albrecht and Chase Huggard. The Mark Justice Memorial scholarships, based mainly on attendance, were given to Rhett Winter and Kylie Willis. Mr. Whitesel then presented the Singleton Scholarships of $500 to Peyton Alton and Paige Farley. The Daughters of American Preservation award went to Tyson Laws, with pathways money being awarded to Tyler Frandsen, Dane Sitterud and Wade Stilson. The Chapman Scholarship was awarded to Dakota Taney.

University of Utah’s $10,000 scholarships went to Tyson Laws, Tyler Frandsen, Emily Richards and William Stilson. USU Eastern’s Technical Educational recipients were Madilyn Bunnell, Easton Hurdsman and Wyatt Gardner. Tyler Frandsen was the winner of a national scholarship. Utah State University Eastern along with Intermountain Electronics presented an award to Wyatt Blake.

The Todd Allred $1,000 scholarships went to Graycee Mills and Monty Christiansen, while $500 went to Ryter Ekker. Kamz Rich and Wyatt Fox were recipients of the Jed Kofford Rookie scholarships. Eastern Utah Community Credit Union scholarships were presented by Bruce Yost to Ansley Staley, Paige Farley and Derick Jensen.

Departments heads of the school then gave their end of year and outstanding student awards in each of their disciplines.

scroll to top