Students Honored at End-of-Year Program at Carbon High


Principal Bruce Bean began a recent award assembly at Carbon High by thanking the student body for their admirable conduct in response to the tragedy that befell their classmate, Kaitlyn Hansen. He remarked that schools all over the country were looking at Carbon High’s example. After the principal’s announcement, the personal recognition began.

A little girl named Gracy received recognition for her honorable donation to Carbon High. She had donated a mascot to the school, a metal dinosaur skeleton she had recently won. Principal Bean offered to name the mascot after her, but she humbly shook her head no.

Carbon High students received recognition for academic achievement as well as service throughout the community. Several organizations gave awards or scholarships including the Carbon County Food Bank, the IPP, the Juanita Child’s Scholarship, the Kwanis Club, United Way and Emery Telcom to name a few.

Brock Johansen, CEO of Emery Telcom, presented five $1000 scholarships from Emery Telcom. The winners of these scholarships were Laycee Meyer, Gentry Waller, Jerika Morgan, Aubrie Robinett and Braxton Jones.

Members of each club within the school were also recognized.

scroll to top